May 26, 2011

I Think I’m Trippin’ Y’all!

Posted in Disability, Prayer Request at 8:36 pm by Sarah Bosse

This week, for the first time in literally 3 years, I am going on a trip that will take me more than 2 hours from my home.  This is the first time in 3 years that I’ve been able to go that far before!  And if it wasn’t for my wheelchair, I wouldn’t be able to go!!  God has used that wheelchair to give me SO MUCH MORE FREEDOM than I had before!
I’m going to Florida with friends – we’re going to a Christian conference (www.thisisnext.org).  😀  And I’m so excited!  I’ve been cooking most of the day today (except during the hours I was working from 4p-9p) and making meal plans so that I can pack two coolers and a box with food I can take on the trip since everything I eat must be prepared ahead of time in my allergen-free kitchen because my allergies and the severity of my celiac disease and gluten ataxia really are life-threatening.
I can’t believe I’m doing this in some ways!  😀  I mean, I’ve adjusted my lifestyle SO MUCH to work with my increased limitations over the last few years.  I’ve given up so much just in the name of “surviving”.  So, to finally do something that I like and that I’ve not been able to do for years is really amazing to me.
I just don’t want to miss this opportunity to be grateful, you know?  We all take SO MUCH FOR GRANTED!  And here I am!  I’m able (I think – we’ll find out for sure!) to travel for a few days, and even if it requires extensive planning (how to fit a wheelchair, crutches, coolers and a box of food with a luggage bag and pillows and medications…into a car that other people are riding in; how to avoid contamination while traveling; how to manage pain when riding in the car; how to sleep on a flat bed that most people sleep on without waking up a lot from spasms; etc), it’s worth it for me to GET OUT AND LIVE and ENJOY life and be with PEOPLE, and have a vacation where I can listen to excellent preaching, teaching, join thousands of others in worship, and have dedicated time to read the Word and soak in more of the knowledge of God and His grace.  Isn’t that worth so much?!  Wow. I feel really blessed!  I might be the most blessed person in the United States…no…in the WHOLE WORLD!  Really!  Can you think of anyone who has it better than I do?!  I can’t!  God and my friends and church have been so kind to me.
Please pray for safe travels for everyone going.  And for me especially, please pray for pain control, and that I will have energy while there to be “all there”.  Please also ask that I would hear the Holy Spirit clearly and have very refreshing time in the Word.  I also need an appetite so that I will want to eat, and I need to sleep well enough to function.  I’m sure I’m forgetting something.  If you happen to think of something I left out, please also add that in!  😀  Your prayers are coveted.
Thanks, friends!!  😀  Here we go!!!!!!
Leave a Reply

