February 20, 2011

Broken and Crying Out

Posted in Prayer Request at 10:56 pm by Sarah Bosse

God is calling me to even stricter diligence in my daily life.  Diligence to sleeping at a certain time, rising at a certain time, eating at a set time and certain foods to better maintain my health, etc.  He has laid it on my heart and has even used friends of late to bring this conviction more fully to bear upon me, not in judgment, but in grace and a desire to see me grow in godliness.
My flesh rebels, however, and this strictness, it feels, is the very death of me, a terrifying and slow suffocation.  But what am I to say?  That I do not sense the conviction of the Spirit of God?  That I prefer my own way, though filled with error and selfishness, pride that elevates my desires above the desire that God be glorified?  Oh Lord, let this not be the description of my life!!
Tears roll freely down.  My heart is feeling broken tonight, and I sense I will be spending hours this week on my face before God.  I cannot do this alone – it isn’t in me.  I am so weak, so tired, so frail, so exhausted by the constant battle.
…but He is so strong, and I know He wants to show that His power is perfected by giving me – the weakest one – victory that points myself and others wholly back to Him, for His glory.
This battle really isn’t physical; it is primarily spiritual, as my spirit is strengthened in Him and my body and flesh is mortified.  The battle is the Lord’s.  I can choose to go in His strength, upheld by His power.
In prayer, please “hold my weary arms up” as I cry out to God for His help and His victory in my life in so many areas, that I may become a woman whose life pleases God and brings Him great glory.  Though it costs me all, what is not already God’s that I should withhold from Him?
Lord, help me.
1 Comment »

  1. Rachel said,

    You will become that woman, Sarah, and remember, God already sees you that way. He sees the woman perfected; He sees the infinite number of times your life will bring Him glory, day to day, year to year, and in eternity.

    Remember, you are God’s workmanship. The personal creation of you, is a good gift that God has given. So you can turn in full confidence to a verse like Romans 8:28, “And we know that for those who love God all things [all things] work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”

    Which things of your life have been worked by God for your good? Broken bones? IBS? ADD? Gluten Ataxia? Hypoglycemia? etc? All of them! All of them. Because He is a heavenly Father who is also the Sovereign Lord of our lives, and so we rest in His sovereign, fatherly care.

    “In all circumstances of life, it gives us good confidence, good confidence!, in our faithful God and Father that He will provide whatever we need for body and soul, and that He will turn to our good whatever adversity He sends us in this sad world, since He is able to do this as almighty God and desires to do this as a faithful Father” (Herman Bavink).

    Praying for, my sister.

    In Christ,
    Rachel


Leave a Reply

