February 10, 2011

A Response To: ESSAY; The Valley Is The Place For Me by Christine DiGrazia

Posted in Lighter Moments, Stories at 9:13 pm by Sarah Bosse

A response to:

ESSAY; The Valley Is The Place For Me
By CHRISTINE DiGRAZIA
Published: March 21, 2004

That was a good article. I lived in Ansonia growing up, and as an infant I lived in New Haven. I went to school for several years in Ansonia, and my family attended a church in Orange. I remember all those lonely-looking, empty factories, some of which were still being used, typically for purposes other than that for which they were originally built. And I do have to agree that sports fanaticism has become part of the local culture of that area. LOL. 😀 Dad still roots for UCONN, especially women’s basketball. He would bring me home little stuffed teddies with “UCONN” on their sports jersey shirts. 🙂 To be honest, the stereotype that Valley folks don’t travel as much as others is probably true, but there’s nothing particularly wrong about that.

The problem isn’t even so much the stereotypes, but the fact that people tend to care more about silly preferences and cultural differences than they care about moral and ethical issues, character qualities, etc. “So what!” if you have more or less education (and coming from my “stock,” I’m not dissing education, but…) – there are things much more important in life than education, culture, etc. For instance…Do you love God and others? I can assure you that truly loving others and making that your “career” will be more challenging than any other job, career, or goal you set in your life – it’s one you will never fully perfect, but growing in love is worth every bit of work, effort, toil, sweat and tear you will pour into it.

If I speak in the tongues of men… but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I …understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.
Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.
Love never ends. ….As for knowledge, it will pass away.
(1 Corinthians 13:1-8 ESV)

Rather than being known for their high education, cultural astuteness, and equality with the rest of the world, I hope the Valley will feel challenged to be known for Christ-like love, grace, and the fruit of the Spirit.

*Jumping off my soap box, hoping to land on my feet.*

Leave a Reply

