August 23, 2010

Lest I Forget Thy Love For Me, Lead Me To Calvary

Posted in Devotionals, Hymns / Songs / Lyrics, Prayer Request tagged , , , , , , , , , at 10:35 pm by Sarah Bosse

Sometimes I walk through some deep and dark valleys that probably only those who have walked the same paths could understand.  I can hardly say that I “understand” them; “familiar” may be a better word.  Despair, darkness, dryness, death.  That’s what resides in those valleys.

Yet there’s something else that resides there as well.  And it may take a while to dig down to hit that Bedrock, yet it exists.  How the Spirit of God could speak to me through the darkness is a mystery to me.  When I feel like I don’t even WANT God, He can break through my hardness and anger.  All glory to Him for that.

Through my most recent valley, the words that the Spirit keeps speaking to me are short and simple, yet full.  “Lest I Forget Thy Love For Me, Lead Me To Calvary”.  That’s it.  Yet it means so much.  There are at least two angles from which to view this phrase; how it illuminates our human condition, and how it gives glory to God’s perfect condition.

I’m forgetful, I’m lowly, unworthy, rebellious, sinful, debase, detestable.  I both CAN and DO forget my Savior’s love for me.  I CAN and DO get distracted by every thought and wave, sweeping and tossing me to and fro.  I CAN and DO get angry with God, my Creator, and the Lover of my soul.  Whether I’m in the mood to admit it or not, I need a Savior.  I need a Calvary.  I needed Him to die for me.  And I need to die to my sin.

From the perspective of God’s perfection and – glory be to God – His grace; I can also rejoice in the fact that He has provided all that I need and more.  He is humble, but holy.  He became my substitute and took the wrath that I deserve.  He loves me, regardless of what I think of myself and my human condition or circumstances.  What’s amazing is that He also LEADS me.  There’s no reason He should, but He chooses to.  Even when I want nothing to do with Him, nothing to do with life or living or fighting or or or…He’s there with open arms.  He’s both my Bedrock and my Comforter.

And this one line, of this old hymn my parents used to sing in harmony during our long car rides to Maine and back as a young child, came back to me and has pierced a shaft of light through what feels like unbearable gloom.

“Lest I Forget Thy Love For Me, Lead Me To Calvary”

Sometimes the lights are turned out and it’s so dark I can’t process Scripture; Scripture feels overwhelming.  But God’s Spirit is still with me in the deepest depths, and He speaks.  Just a few words.  And what He says that surpasses words is still understood.  The Spirit says, “This is what you are to pray right now; “Don’t let me forget Your Love, God!  Hold me!  And lead me by the hand to the place where You showed your great Love for me – take me to Your cross, so that I can smell the rough and splintered wood, see the blood that ran in a continuous stream from Your head to Your feet, still fresh, feel the tremors of the very earth below my feet on the day that You died as the earth quaked and the tombs of the dead were opened as the dead were raised, feel the strong and gusting wind pushing against my body as the sky darkens and the terrifying storm rolls in, causing the centurions to quake in their armor.  Its as if the foundations of all creation are about to come undone in testimony to Your divine love, all loves eternally excelling.  Satan is defeated and his roaring is silenced for a time as the heavens watch in awe, only to be deafened again by the rejoicing in heaven and loudest praise of all the heavenly hosts in chorus.  Lead me, God, to THIS Calvary.   The Calvary of Satan’s defeat and God’s victorious love, displayed as the greatest Sacrifice ever to be made.  Don’t let me forget this Calvary, this Savior, this Love.  Help me, Lord!”

Lead Me To Calvary

Words: Jennie E. Hussey, 1921     Music: Wil liam J. Kirk Patrick

King of my life, I crown Thee now,
Thine shall the glory be;
Lest I forget Thy thorn crowned brow,
Lead me to Calvary.
Refrain
Lest I forget Gethsemane,
Lest I forget Thine agony;
Lest I forget Thy love for me,
Lead me to Calvary.
Show me the tomb where Thou wast laid,
Tenderly mourned and wept;
Angels in robes of light arrayed
Guarded Thee whilst Thou slept.
Refrain
Let me like Mary, through the gloom,
Come with a gift to Thee;
Show to me now the empty tomb,
Lead me to Calvary.
Refrain
May I be willing, Lord, to bear
Daily my cross for Thee;
Even Thy cup of grief to share,
Thou hast borne all for me.
Refrain
Leave a Reply

