January 20, 2010

Jesus Christ Is Sovereign Over Breast Cancer

Posted in Poetry, Prayer Request, Update tagged , , , , , , , , at 11:00 pm by Sarah Bosse

You never seem to believe it’s possible it could happen in your family until, well…it happens. But once it’s here, it seems like it will always be here and never fully gone. I’m talking about cancer. On January 5th, 2010, my Mom was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. It took me by shock and I wasn’t quite sure what to say when I got the call. I just prayed and didn’t tell anyone for a few days…just trying to process it in my mind. Then I spoke with a woman who has battled cancer several times. She said, “Just hate it for your family that the big C has entered your life but …we have a “C” in our lives that is supreme to cancer.”

Jesus Christ Is Sovereign Over Breast Cancer - by Sarah M. Bosse

Jesus Christ Is Sovereign Over Breast Cancer - by Sarah M. Bosse

What this woman said has been rolling around in my brain for a few weeks now (it’s only been two weeks but it already feels like several months since that phone call).   As I thought about her words, I created the picture posted here with word art and breast cancer awareness ribbons.  She spoke such a simple exhortation, but it really affected me and encouraged me to “look up and see [my] Savior raised”. He has triumphed over the grave and holds the keys of life and death.

John 1:1-5a

1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 The same was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. 4 In him was life; and the life was the light of men. 5 And the light shineth in darkness….


Please join me in praying for my Mom.  Mom has confessed and believes in God’s sovereignty over her cancer.  At times like this, when life gets hard and gritty, the perfect pairing of God’s sovereignty with His love constitutes the balm that soothes the aching soul.  Pray for God’s closeness during this season and for His mercy during surgery, chemotherapy, and healing.  I am praying that God will strengthen Mom so that she is a strong witness to the awesome power of God working through our weaknesses and that many people will see a living sacrifice of a life well-lived for God and respond in praise to Him for all that He has done.

My family thanks you for your prayers.

If you are interested in using this copyright design, please visit my Zazzle store to view and purchase products with excellent image quality and work(woman)ship.

Sarah M. Bosse

5 Comments »

  1. emily said,

    i will be praying…

  2. Sarah Bosse said,

    Thank you!

  3. Kelly said,

    Sarah,
    praying here. I just posted about this, with a link to this post and to your zazzle store. Love you Bosse family!

  4. Lena said,

    Sarah….
    Im sorry, maybe is too late for me to know that your Mom was in sick…
    i will be praying…..

  5. Sarah Bosse said,

    It’s not too late to pray. Many thanks to everyone who is joining us in prayer!


Leave a Reply

