May 23, 2009

Out of the Depths O Lord I Cry To You – Sovereign Grace Music, Bob Kauflin

Posted in Devotionals, Hymns / Songs / Lyrics at 11:44 pm by Sarah Bosse

Out of the Depths
Words and music by Bob Kauflin
As recorded on Psalms
Out of the depths, O Lord, I cry to You
When I am tempted to despair
Though I might fail to trust Your promises
You never fail to hear my prayer
And if You judged my sin
I’d never stand again
But I see mercy in Your hands
So more than watchmen for the morning
I will wait for You, my God
When my fears come with no warning
In Your Word I’ll put my trust
When the harvest time is over and I still see no fruit
I will wait, I will wait for You
The secret mysteries belong to You
We only know what You reveal
And all my questions that are unresolved
Don’t change the wisdom of Your will
In every trial and loss
My hope is in the cross
Where Your compassions never fail
© 2008 Sovereign Grace Praise (BMI)

Out of the Depths

 

Out of the depths, O Lord, I cry to You
When I am tempted to despair
Though I might fail to trust Your promises
You never fail to hear my prayer
And if You judged my sin
I’d never stand again
But I see mercy in Your hands

So more than watchmen for the morning
I will wait for You, my God
When my fears come with no warning
In Your Word I’ll put my trust
When the harvest time is over and I still see no fruit
I will wait, I will wait for You

The secret mysteries belong to You
We only know what You reveal
And all my questions that are unresolved
Don’t change the wisdom of Your will
In every trial and loss
My hope is in the cross
Where Your compassions never fail

© 2008 Sovereign Grace Praise (BMI)

During various times in the last year, this song has been one of my top 10 favorites that I consistently set on my vehicle’s CD player to “repeat track”.  There is so much to think about and meditate on in this song that you can play it over and over without getting bored.  It’s been the perfect song for those “walking-the-plank” moments when there are only two options; the waters of despair, or the ship of salvation. This song so beautifully brings the psalmist’s understanding of his spiritual and situational experience in line with the promises of God through the action of meditation on God’s promises in the midst of strife.

The very first verse points away from the psalmist and directs the reader’s eyes toward God’s faithfulness.  The psalmist isn’t trying to be a spiritual hero here. In fact, he is recognizing his weakness, his temptation to despair, and the fact that he has failed to remember and trust God’s promises.  But watch how quickly he manages to flip that all on its head!  He says, “…Despite all my failings, You, God, never cease to hear my prayer, to be faithful to me, and to remember the promises you have made to me and to Your people.”  The psalmist humbly admits his position before God as a wrath-deserving sinner, AND trusts in the Lord’s mercy to preserve his life.

Whose court is the ball in now?! (Ken Barnes would appreciate this…)  The psalmist took the tennis ball and threw it up in the air.  While it was in the air, he said to himself, “I feel like that tennis ball; up in the air but waiting to fall.”  And then the psalmist took his racket of faith and served that tennis ball right over into God’s court.  The psalmist watched intently to see what would happen.  From across the court, God smiled and in His mercy, instead of hitting the ball back with His racket, He caught the ball with his hand and held it tightly, decidedly never letting go.

The psamist’s honesty is refreshing. “Sometimes I cannot see you, Lord.  My eyes are dimmed.  Fears come upon me without warning; fears great and small.  And there are times when I strive for godliness, but I don’t see the fruit of those labors.”  But once again he beautifully flips things around to point once more to God’s faithfulness and trustworthiness. “Though I cannot see You, I know You are there and therefore I will wait for You.  When I am afraid, my trust belongs to You, Lord.  You alone are worthy of my full trust.  When I’ve striven against sin and I see no fruit, I will trust that You are continuing to sanctify me and that my justification is already secured.”

“When life is crazy and I don’t understand what You are doing, Lord, I can trust that You know perfectly what you are doing…and that Your wisdom is beyond my ability to comprehend.”  That’s faith for ya!  The psalmist has reached the point where he has experienced trials and losses.  Yet he’s evidently experienced enough of the former to submit this response; “My hope is in the cross, where Your compassions never fail.”  And he returns to waiting patiently on the Lord.

One more interesting note.  The psalmist isn’t first somehow “griping” about his situation and only after his griping finally putting a bandaid on it all by saying, “God is good, God is loving, I’ll trust him, yeah, I know all of that already.” He’s not doing that at all.  Instead, he is actually taking each thought captive in his mind.  Before another continuing assessment of his condition surfaces, the psalmist first turns his head, looks at Christ, and says, “But this much I know is true…” What an excellent example for us to live by today!  You might think, “I don’t know how I will pay the rent this month.”  After that thought, you can turn your head and look at Christ and say, “But I know this much is true; Matthew 6 says “…do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?  And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?  And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?  Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.””  Then you can proceed to honest assessment number two.  But let’s stop ourselves at assessment number one before going on to assessment number two, first looking to Christ to gain His ACCURATE ASSESSMENT of our situation based on the immutable Character of God Himself!  (Isn’t it interesting that in Matthew 10, Jesus speaks about coming persecution and then follows it up by “Do Not Fear”?  What a perfect example of the concept of bringing our assessments and thoughts to Christ, to receive His assessment!)

Sarah M. Bosse

3 Comments »

  1. Patrick Cronin said,

    You forgot to say which psalm it is ! Psalm 129(130)

  2. Dinah Clarke said,

    i love the psalms because they are so real! …. I can come to God in my pain as well as my joy … thank you

  3. Reblogged this on memoirandremains.


Leave a Reply

