February 24, 2009

Welcome Cross – Olney Hymns

Posted in Devotionals, Hymns / Songs / Lyrics at 11:15 pm by Sarah Bosse

WELCOME CROSS

 

‘Tis my happiness below

Not to live without the cross,

But the Saviour’s power to know,

Sanctifying every loss:

Trials must and will befall;

But with humble faith to see

Love inscribed upon them all,

This is happiness to me.

 

God in Israel sows the seeds

Of affliction, pain, and toil;

These spring up and choke the weeds

Which would else o’erspread the soil:

Trials make the promise sweet,

Trials give new life to prayer;

Trials bring me to his feet,

Lay me low, and keep me there.

 

Did I meet no trials here,

No chastisement by the way:

Might I not, with reason, fear

I should prove a castaway?

Bastards may escape the rod,

Sunk in earthly, vain delight;

But the true born child of God

Must not, would not, if he might.

 

From the Olney Hymns by William Cowper and John Newton, in public domain.

Leave a Reply

