December 23, 2008

Mary’s Contemplations

Posted in Devotionals, Poetry, Stories at 10:24 am by Sarah Bosse

This has now morphed into a song with a chorus and more verses (originally a poem).  

 

Mary’s Contemplations

 

I am just His handmaiden

The vessel He will use

I sit back and watch in wonder

As He breathes Life into you

 

Each movement of your quickening

Reminds me of God’s power

How He works out His plans for you

Minute by minute, hour by hour

 

Oh God, this little one I bear 

Will turn the world upside down, 

Reversing the order of the crown

And making a way for Your people

To come near to You

 

The Lord has blessed His lowly servant

The Lord has done great things for me

He is holy and merciful

Forever and for eternity

 

Great mysteries I’ve heard

The wonders of the world I’ve seen

But nothing compares to the wonder

That’s growing inside of me

 

Oh God, this little one I bear 

Will turn the world upside down, 

Reversing the order of the crown

And making a way for Your people

To come near to You

 

Every day is another picture 

The God of Abraham drew

Upon the pages of your life

And I’m gladly a part of that too

 

Hear, O Israel, come listen

This baby named Jesus

Is the One promised our fathers

He has come to redeem us

 

Oh God, this little one I bear 

Will turn the world upside down, 

Reversing the order of the crown

And making a way for Your people

To come near to You

 

When I first look into your face

I know Heaven’s eyes I’ll see

How is it that my Lord and Savior

Should be the baby born to me

 

He has established a way for you

I’m humbly part of His plan

I do not know what tomorrow will bring

But I trust the Master’s hand

 

Oh God, this little one I bear 

Will turn the world upside down, 

Reversing the order of the crown

And making a way for Your people

To come near to You

 

The proud the Lord has brought down

He’s removed them from their thrones

Yet the poor and needy He has exalted

They shall be His alone

 

Lord teach me how to love

A child so special to You

This Gift You have given from Above

Is for the whole world too

 

Oh God, this little one I bear 

Will turn the world upside down, 

Reversing the order of the crown

And making a way for Your people

To come near to You

 

I cannot claim to understand

The way that God has chosen

To bring His Son from a lowly one

The humble, Your love shown them

 

 

Sarah M. Bosse 12/22/2008

Leave a Reply

