October 22, 2008

How BIG Is God…In MY Life?

Posted in Devotionals, Update at 4:42 am by Sarah Bosse

I am a thinker, and thinkers think…therefore I am.  No, I’m just kidding.  I am a thinker, however, and this has been on my mind….

It is easy enough for me to think that God is both willing and able to do awesome things for other Christians.  I have no difficulty thinking that God will provide for their needs in Christ or that He will be there for them when they feel they have “hit rock bottom” and can’t sink further.

But when I’m in those situations where I’m sinking and drowning or when it seems all is NOT well, I don’t see God as being both willing and able to always take care of me and be near to me.  I don’t always trust Him, though He alone is trustworthy.  It seems to me that God is bigger in the lives of others than He is in my own life – He’s more able to work in and through their lives than He is able to work in and through my own life.

Just in case you don’t hear the hypocrisy in that way of thinking, let me point it out to you.  It’s typically easier to be an onlooker to another person’s problems and see how God could work and move when you don’t know all of the little details and minutia of that person’s situation.  It’s easy to have faith in God when you don’t understand what you’re up against; when you have faith in God for nothing specific.  But it’s another thing (or so it seems at the time) to look into your own life, gaze at your own problems, and trust God with the same fervency.

One of two things must be true: Either

A) God is as small and incapable in the lives of others as He seems to be in my life

OR

B) God is as big and capable in my life as I believe Him to be in the lives of others.

Additionally, my focus on the situation or problem, removed from the context of the Bible and what the Holy Spirit teaches us about God, is DANGEROUS.  Is it not better that I spend more time focusing on the Truth of the Bible, so that my thinking can become clear and corrected so that when I do glance (not gaze) at my situation, I can see it more clearly with the light that Scripture brings!

How is it that I, as a Christian, would not trust my Lord with the small things when I’ve trusted Him with the biggest thing in my life – my very life itself.  Luke 16:10 “One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much, and one who is dishonest in a very little is also dishonest in much.”  If I trust God to be faithful in securing my Salvation, then why would I not trust Him with the little things of daily life?  How can I have assurance of Salvation apart from faith and trust that assures me He will lead me all the way and never falter?

Besides, I keep talking as though my life is my own.  But “my own” it is not!  It belongs to Christ.  And to talk of my life as though it were my own is to bring shame to the Cross and the Gospel for which my Lord died.  Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Lord, correct my thinking.  Thank You, God, for Your perfect love and dedication to leading Your wayward sheep.

TGG

Leave a Reply

