October 15, 2008

Modus Operandi – Operating in the Spirit

Posted in Devotionals at 1:10 pm by Sarah Bosse

Many Believers in Christ live life full of the Spirit though they are in much more dangerous and trying situations.  I dare to guess that the breaking of their bodies, their spirits, the hearts, leads to greater dependence on God and increased opportunities for God to fill the brokenness with His Spirit. Paul, of all Christians, faced incredible persecution for the name of Christ (and we don’t even suffer for the name of Christ in particular when we do perchance suffer!), and yet he was operating in the Spirit.  The Holy Spirit truly was Paul’s modus operandi.  
Phil 4:11-13 “Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”  There is so much there in Philippians that is encouraging on this topic.  
Acts 16:25-26 “About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the prisoners were listening to them, 26 and suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken. And immediately all the doors were opened, and everyone’s bonds were unfastened.”  Despite the bonds and shackles and the deep bloody lacerations from the beating that would pull down the emotions and create a great depression of heart, I suspect that Paul and Silas were depending on the Spirit to help them survive that night – either to survive what would come the next day or to give them renewed assurance of God’s love.  If my body were torn and I were singing, I would experience excruciating pain with every breath as my ribcage expanded against the wounds.  But they were singing, encouraging one another in hymns and spiritual songs, and mindful of their mission to share the Gospel…which they did with the other listening prisoners through their songs.  In fear, I would whisper quietly to Silas, trying to plan a way to escape.  Gratefully, these two godly men did not waste their time or breath fretting in futility.  Instead, they did what they were called to do and they gave glory to God, praised Him, and operated in the strength of the Spirit.  Though their bodies were in chains, they spirits were free and welcoming the filling of the Holy Spirit.  
TGG
Leave a Reply

