October 6, 2008

Testimony of Healing (shared 10.06.08)

Posted in Poetry, Prayer Request, prophecy, Stories, Update at 4:11 am by Sarah Bosse

Last Sunday, I received prayer for physical healing.  On Monday evening, my pain began to decrease and by Tuesday my back pain was essentially gone.  Since Tuesday, my back has been feeling great and my burning leg pain has decreased, though I still have a few headaches.  I had forgotten what it is like to be nearly pain-free, but now I know, and remember, and experience this unspeakable blessing.  I am in remission, and I am grateful to God!  Praise be to God!

Some people will want to know if I was “supernaturally healed” by God or if I was healed by medicine or other factors.  I say God may have used any of these measures as means of grace to bring me relief, and the fact that I am a Saved sinner is more supernatural in nature than my physical healing.  Marvel in supernatural grace that has the power to save a sinful wretch like me (and you)!

Other people may say, “But what if your pain comes back?  If your pain comes back, then you will know God didn’t heal you.”  Whether God grants a day or a lifetime of remission and relief, I am grateful to the Lord for His kindness.  God is righteous; He gives and takes away, and He is to be blessed regardless of how my situation appears.  If my hope, faith, and trust rested in my situation (whether good or bad) rather than in God, I would long ago have parted with hope, faith, and trust altogether!  But as it is, I desire to rest my hopes in Christ crucified and resurrected, for He alone is my health and my salvation.  Whether in sickness or in health, the Lord will bring the perfect trial of blessing into my life so that I depend on Him as He forms me in His likeness.

Put your hope not in the gift, but in the Giver of all gifts – our Heavenly Father.
Trust God today, for He is El Shaddai, “The God Who Is Enough” and He will supply generously from His riches, to His glory!

PRAISE TO THE LORD, THE ALMIGHTY
– Joachim Neander

Praise to the Lord, the Almighty, the King of creation!
O my soul, praise Him, for He is thy health and salvation!
All ye who hear, now to His temple draw near;
Join me in glad adoration!

Praise to the Lord, who o’er all things so wondrously reigneth,
Shieldeth thee under His wings, yea, so gently sustaineth!
Hast thou not seen how thy desires e’er have been
Granted in what He ordaineth?

Praise to the Lord, who doth prosper thy work and defend thee;
Surely His goodness and mercy here daily attend thee.
Ponder anew what the Almighty can do,
If with His love He befriend thee.

Praise to the Lord! O let all that is in me adore Him!
All that hath life and breath, come now with praises before Him!
Let the amen sound from His people again;
Gladly forever adore Him.

I wrote to a friend about this experience….

Dear Friend,
I HAVE to share this with you!  I am so excited!  I’m sure you remember how awful I felt a few weeks ago – I could barely move and didn’t know on several occasions if I would be able to pull through the flare-up without a trip to the ER, given the intense pain I was experiencing.  Well, “God moves in mysterious ways” (one of my favorite hymns by William Cowper who battled intense depression most of his life)…and I wanted to share this testimony with you to how God has been working in my life this past week.

I do not know whether this season of relief and/or remission will be brief, long-lasting, or even life-long.  With some conditions, such as MS and RA, remission can last for years for some people.  For others, it is only temporary.  I know one thing for sure – I have been in pain for so long that I don’t remember ever feeling this good!  I feel like nearly a million bucks except for the muscle weakness that is more evident to me now that I’m trying to do things I enjoy and having the energy to actually get through a full day without experiencing fatigue.  I am doing exercises to work on strengthening my legs especially.

Yesterday, I went outside!  I stood for a few hours with some breaks in between!  I stood!  I stood and I went with Barry to a firing range, and I shot a round (25 shots) of 410 from a 20 gauge shotgun and I hit a bunch of skeet!  I’m a good shot!  And then I shot a full round of 20 gauge and again did really well!  It was one of the best experiences of my life!  (I was smart and safe – I wore my back brace for protection as well as all required safety gear.)  If I were not feeling well, I would never have tried to get back into this sport, which is one of my very favorite sports (sorry to say, I was the only woman on the range).

My Day At The Firing Range With Barry - One Of My Best Memories!

My Day At The Firing Range With Barry, One Of My Best Memories!

I feel like I’m still in emotional shock at this point.  Being free from pain is AMAZING!  It’s the greatest gift!  I feel like I’m living inside of a dream!  To have come from several weeks of incredibly intense pain to this…simply leaves me dumbfounded.  Because I recognize I’m still in emotional shock, I plan not to make any big decisions at least for this week.  I want to take time in getting back into normal and enjoyable activities because it takes a lot to go from being quite inactive to being very active again, and I don’t want to stress my body out too much.  I also need to process what is happening.  It’s changing my WHOLE WORLD!

Oh, my Friend….I wish someone could understand the depth of relief I experience when my pain is gone – the happiness and joy!  But to experience that depth of relief, one must also experience the depth of pain and loss and sorrow on the other end.  But to see that God is unchanging despite my “good” or “bad” circumstances and to have my faith increased is wonderful!  He knows what I need even better than I do.  My Friend!  To see people, hear people, hug and touch people…all without having to first cut through the WALL OF PAIN!  It’s miraculous and awesome!  I don’t have to cut through the pain to think or speak or smile!

How many times I have said to the Lord, “I want to smile today, God, but I don’t have a smile to give.  Please give me a smile so that I can share it with someone else.  I need your smile today, God!”  And He’s always answered that prayer.  He’s always given me His smile to share with others.  But today I have a smile that comes easily from within, and a hug for everyone, and a laugh that rumbles from my gut without pain to stop it before it fills the room (people identify me before they see me by my laugh…)!  The world is so beautiful when you don’t see the pain before you see the flowers!  The smells are sharper and crisper!  Everything is so real and new and exciting!

I just wish I could share it with someone….!
I suppose writing is the best way and maybe the only way I can do that.  Thanks for listening!

Gratefully,
TGG

Leave a Reply

