October 1, 2008

Make Me, Show Me

Posted in Poetry at 3:23 am by Sarah Bosse

Help me to know every minute, every hour
How is it that I should serve Thee?
How is it that I should love Thee?
Let me ask You all the day to hear what You might say!
Then enable me to listen and to do what You command
With a quiet heart and humble, eager hands

Make me a follower of meekness and truth
Make me see others in a positive view
To remember that they are but dust
As am I
To remember that they are made in Your image
Your clay

Set in my heart a fire for Your Word
Plant on my tongue words of grace
Abolish all fear of man from my soul
Establish a righteous reverence of Your Name

Make Yourself known through my actions and my deeds
To those who do not believe, let them see You alone in me
Guard Your servant’s paths, make them straight and secure
I depend on You, Holy One, for without You I cannot endure

TGG 10.18.06

Leave a Reply

